I was fairly open in terms of color and style, but I knew that I needed a spacious organizer that could hold not just earrings (as is the case for many stands), but also my necklaces, rings, and bracelets, plus miscellaneous items like my watch and extra earring backs. I also didn’t want anything that cost a fortune or required a ton of assembly, because despite it being a “present,” our money is shared, and I have the handiness of, well, an extremely non-handy person. To buy: $35; amazon.com. The elegant gold stand has a cool hexagonal shape, and it’s ideal for keeping my jewelry organized and looking good at all times. There are five long rows for earrings, a sturdy bracelet bar, six top hooks for necklaces or rings, and a sizable wood tray with three individual units to store other items. Everything is spaced out and defined, so there’s no chance of pieces getting tangled or lost. Even when I hung my necklaces on the top hooks behind the rows of earrings, they didn’t become a giant clump like I feared, but instead stood apart neatly and separately. To buy: $33; amazon.com.