That attraction to expensive carbonated water is well-known by those around me, so I’ve heard “You should get a SodaStream!” on more than a dozen occasions. But I didn’t expect to be blown away once I finally got a SodaStream Terra into my kitchen. And right now, it’s on sale. To buy: $79 (was $100); amazon.com. To start, this wonderful little gadget (which the brand sent me to test) comes in black, white, misty blue, and red, which lets it blend into most kitchen styles. It has a slim profile at only 5 inches wide and just under 8 inches deep, so it doesn’t take up too much counter space. It comes with a CO2 canister (necessary to turn regular tap into sparkling water) and a reusable plastic bottle to make and store your carbonated creation. And that canister? It couldn’t be easier to install. Simply twisting off the cap and popping it into the back of the SodaStream is all it takes to get it up and running. After assembling my machine, I filled the water bottle to the clearly marked line, connected the bottle to it, and pressed down on the button five times (the manual suggests three times for lighter bubbles and up to five for a fuller carbonation, which is my preference). And just like that, I had a fizzy and ready-to-go bottle of sparkling water that rivaled my favorites in taste and consistency. From here, I usually place it in the fridge to cool, but sometimes I’m so impatient that I pour myself a glass and add a few ice cubes to drink it straight away. It’s great with a squirt of any water flavoring pod, on its own, or added to a cocktail. The SodaStream Terra differs from earlier models in that it’s smaller, easier to use, and more affordable. Since it arrived about three months ago, I calculated that it has saved me about $250 and plenty of time on countless one-off trips to the store, where I inevitably buy other things I don’t need. I don’t miss the taste of those pricey bottled brands, and, to be honest, using my SodaStream several times a week has become a quick and easy part of my routine that I look forward to.