Even though we’re using an over-the-door shoe organizer, you can attach and hang this anywhere. I used Command strips and hooks to hang mine on my pantry door, which conveniently has a window across from it so it worked out. And let me tell you, once you have all the plants in each pocket, it is such a beautiful piece of live art. To assemble your vertical planter, you’re gonna start by choosing the herbs you want. My biggest tip is to focus on herbs you use often. That’s the beauty of having fresh herbs on hand—to use them! In our family, we eat a lot of basil. We put it in our pasta sauces, on top of our pizzas and salads. So a row of basil is a must. I love having fresh mint on hand for lemonades, cocktails, and my Asian spring rolls, so I chose two types of mint. I also picked up some cilantro for taco Tuesday, sage for sauces and savory dishes, and then rosemary and thyme for a ton of herb-infused recipes. I chose to keep the herbs in the pots they came in and then picked up 4-inch round drip trays to keep under them. Deciding where to put each herb should come down to how the herbs grow. For example, rosemary grows vertically so I placed those at the very top, basil in the middle at eye level so we can easily grab it and then I put the mint at the bottom so it can cascade down. In general, herbs don’t need a ton of sunlight, but they do need at least 4 hours a day, so make sure to keep that in mind when you are choosing a spot for your vertical herb garden. For a finishing touch, I found these beautiful copper labels and I used a white chalk marker to identify each group of herbs. To maintain your herb garden, be sure not to over-water your herbs. Keep the soil moist and allow for plenty of drainage. When you’re pruning and harvesting the herbs, take from the top even though it’s tempting to take some of the fuller leaves at the bottom. For preserving the herbs you can chop them up and place them in ice cube trays and cover them in a little olive oil or water and freeze them. Then you have these amazing herbaceous flavor bombs to use in your cooking. I hope this video inspires you to create your own vertical herb garden that is uniquely yours.